How to Grow Fuchsias Plant and Care Them

Since the onset of 2015, I started a pet project (the achaar recipe) that I had been wanting to do, but was too lazy to begin another one. After reading a friend’s blog post on procrastination, I decided to add yet another section to my blog! A plant journal. This journal will be like booktalk where I will introduce the plants (preferably those which I own) and describe about them, how to take care of them, do’s and do not’s. These information will be based on my experiences as well as few researches on the internet 😀 So, my 1st plant journal is about Fuchsias! They are blooming quite well in my garden right now 😀 
Commonly know as “Krishnakali” in Nepali, Fuchsias are exotic flowers, usually with striking two tone colors. They can be found in different shades ranging from white, pink, red, magenta, blue and purple. These delicate plants can be best grown in hanging baskets because of their dropping stems and colorful bell shaped flowers.  
I have three varieties of Fuchsias in my garden, all in earthen pots. 
A Combination of Blue and Red
Photo taken from www.redbubble.com

How to Care Fuchsias?
Moisture
If watered properly, these can grow easily during summer. But be careful not to water them too much. Too much moisture weakens the plant. Make sure you have adequate facility for draingae if you are planting them in a pot. 
Insects
Care must be taken so that there no insects infesting the plant. As far as I remember, there have been no infestations in my Krishnakali (touchwood). 
Temperature
They can be grown both inside and outside. If you plan to grow them inside, keep them in a semi sunny side of the room. They prefer slightly shaded place with temperature 10-20 degree C.  As the temperature gets too cold, bring them inside to avoid the frost. You can keep your Fuchsia alive by watering them inside all year long.
Photo Taken from www.mrwallpaper.com
Fertilizers
Krishnakalis must be fertilized every 2-3 weeks. I usually put a handful of organic manure bought from the nearby nursery in this plant. However during late summer, fertilizing should be minimized as they get ready for flowering for winter. 
Taking care of Fuchsias is quite easy. These lovely plants will create a lovely beautiful environment for you!
To know more about how to take care of Fuchsias in an extreme cold climate, go here!
Krishnakali in my garden

2 thoughts on “How to Grow Fuchsias Plant and Care Them

Leave a comment