Running For Life

It was an ordinary Saturday where I had just finished my work and was watching FRIENDS. Suddenly my chair started vibrating. As someone who is prone to earthquake (I have been dreading about it ever since we were taught about earthquakes in class 9) me and my bhai were alert at once. As bhai screamed on top of his lungs, I remembered “Duck, Cover, Hold” mantra taught by Red Cross at my office few months back. My senses told me I should do the same and I reached out to the nearest desk of my sister. The ground had started shaking violently by now, I could still hear my brother shouting “Didi Didi!!”. Unable to bear the voice, afraid that he’d come to get me and hurt himself, I rose and started running- from the fourth floor of my house.

I can still remember that queer hollow noise the earth produces when it shaked. That day, amidst the noise of the earth, cries of my brother and my brain telling me “Run Run Run! You must survive!”, I ducked in for the second time for few seconds, ran again and finally reached the ground.  Apart from a sprained ankle and a trembling heart, I had sustained no injuries escaping. My siblings were safe.
Surprisingly, I felt fearless. My parents were outside and so was my granny. Yet, I was unconcerned, thinking this would end soon.
Some thirty minutes after the earthquake and aftershocks, as we were waiting for my parents in an open ground, I saw my mom and papa returning back. They were both trapped on the 2nd floor of Bhatbhateni, crockery section. Mom told us about how the beam shook, the utensils shattered around and how the roads were cracked. Both were shaken, mom was in tears- I was still unaffected and smiled at mom for getting emotional. It was only after I heard the mighty landmark of Kathmandu, Dharahara had collapsed, I felt goosebumps in my skin and was really frightened. The aftershocks were unbelievably scary. Sometimes the shaking would go round and round, sometimes it would go up and down. I was thankful my family was together at this darkest hour.
That one person you tried calling for the umpteenth time after first jolt of the earthquake- after my parents would be my boyfriend. I called him like a million times to check if he was okay from my parents’ cellphone. It was only after some five hours, I mustered up my courage to go my room and get my phone- that I saw his text telling me he was safe and asking me to be careful. I breathed in relief.

Change in water level inside the well around my locality. Locals tell me the water
was close to the rim just after the quake. The very next day, the well dried up. 
Bhaktapur in crumbles. My heart weeps out not only for the lost lives
but also for the lost architecture, epitomes of history and civilization. 
We started to listening to Radio Nepal for the details. The casualties, locals reporting about their losses from different parts of Nepal was overwhelming. Like most of the Nepalese, we stayed inside the temporary shelters we made to avoid hazards due to earthquake. I’d regretfully remember how I procrastinated to make earthquake emergency bag. Thanks to Radio Nepal for being there with me throughout the sleepless nights. 
We stayed nearby along with four other families. Sharing bought us closer
and we were able to appreciate each other’s differences and similarities. 
The second night was the most terrible of all.
It rained heavily and those sleeping in the corner (me) wet ourselves!
This is what we did the next day to prevent water from coming inside the tent.
After this mega earthquake of 7.6 magnitude with epicenter at Barpak, Gorkha, many victims so far 7000 are reported to be dead. As I recall the courteous and hospitable people of Barpak, tears well my eyes. Helps are still going there but owing to the complex terrain, rescue programs have been tough. There are rumors of villages starting to smell due to dead bodies. As I sit back, I imagine the screams of people, what must have their last thoughts been? did it hurt? did they pray to god? Despondency clouds over me and I hurriedly divert my attention to something. 
I hope we find enough strength to stand up again. To fight back, to grow tall and to forget that fateful day. The wonderful thing about this tragedy is millions of Nepalese both inside and abroad rushed for help forgetting the caste and ethnicity. While massive foreign aids did arrive, Nepalese youths too volunteered themselves to reach out to the victims. Energetic and patriotic youths are one of the best assets a nation can have. Jai Nepal! 

3 thoughts on “Running For Life

  1. Dear Anndeeta — I am so happy to hear that you and your family are okay. There are probably no words I can say from halfway around the globe to comfort you at this time. But it is touching to hear about the local volunteers and support you are experiencing during the aftermath of the earthquakes. My heart and thoughts go out to you, your family, your country, and your countrymen and women who have lost their lives in this tragedy. — Ashlee

    Like

Leave a comment